Colony Of North Borneo

BP North Borneo 1962-003-vertNorth Borneo was a British protectorate under the sovereign  North Borneo Chartered Company from 1882 to 1946. After World War II, it became a  crown colony of the  United Kingdom from 1946 to 1963, known as British North Borneo. Currently, it is known as the state of  Sabah,  East Malaysia.

The Governor of the British Crown Colony of North Borneo is the position created by the British Government upon the cession of North Borneo from the North Borneo Chartered Company. King George VI made the appointment, and later Queen Elizabeth II, until the self-government of North Borneo on 31 August 1963 and the forming of the Federation of Malaysia in 1963.

After the formation of Malaysia, the title was changed to ‘Tuan Yang Terutama Yang di-Pertua Negeri Sabah’, which also means ‘His Excellency The Governor of Sabah’, or ‘His Excellency The Head of State of Sabah,’ and the appointment was later made by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or King of Malaysia. Labuan first joined the Crown Colony on 15 July 1946.


List of Governors of the Crown Colony of North Borneo

Edward Francis Twining19461949
Herbert Ralph Hone19501954
Roland Evelyn Turnbull19541959
William Allmond Codrington Goode19591963

It is the first time I have seen this British territory passport type. You can bet this document is super rare!

Please follow and like us:


Stay updated on the latest articles & news on Passport History and Collecting!

*plus a FREE Passport Collecting Guideline!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *